Posted in Abraham's Call, Bible lessons, christianity, daily devotions, lessons of life, morning devotions

DEPARTING FROM HOME

 BIBLE 4

TAKING A STEP FROM THE PAST


GENESIS 12    IN FOCUS

The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.


The journey to becoming the father of all nations was an arduous one. Abraham had been asked to leave his fathers house and also to depart from all the people he knew. O how painful it might be to leave all your acquaintances.


There exist a cost and a reward for releasing ourselves for the kingdom of God.  Then Peter said to Him, “Behold, we have left everything and followed You; what then will there be for us?” And Jesus said to them, “Truly I say to you, that you who have followed Me, in the regeneration when the Son of Man will sit on His glorious throne, you also shall sit upon twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. 


Abraham had been promised of greatness but how was it going to be possible?

“I will make you into a great nation,
    and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
    and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you,
    and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
    will be blessed through you.”


Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross and follow Me. “For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it; but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it.  Matthew 16:24


HYMN

I hear Thy welcome voice
That calls me, Lord, to Thee,
For cleansing in Thy precious blood
That flowed on Calvary.

Refrain

I am coming Lord!
Coming now to Thee!
Wash me, cleanse me in the blood
That flowed on Calvary!


PONDER:     My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.                                 JOHN 10:27

Author:

'Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.' --- Joshua 1: 8 The Holy Bible is not only a proven book which reckon the past, present and the future but also an awesome manual for life. Clinging closer to the Bible, taking lessons out of it under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and letting it be our best companion will empower us for both joyous and melancholic moments of life. E. A. Y. Devotions takes a journey into the Holy Bible for the unique and renowned lessons for the great empowerment of our lives.

Leave a Reply

