Posted in Uncategorized

The Same thing

prayer 2

GENESIS     26    IN    FOCUS

When the men of that place asked him about his wife, he said, “She is my sister,”

THINK ABOUT IT

how are you repeating history?

what did your parent go through?

What are you going through?

Abraham married a beautiful wife. He got to the point where he had to brand his wife as his sister.

His son Isaac was faced with the same situation. Isaac married a beautiful wife, He was at the point where he met the same instance as that of his father; to brand his wife as his sister.

ABRAHAM:

Now Abraham journeyed from there toward the land of the Negev, and settled between Kadesh and Shur; then he sojourned in Gerar. 2Abraham said of Sarah his wife, “She is my sister.” So Abimelech king of Gerar sent and took Sarah

11 Abraham replied, “I said to myself, ‘There is surely no fear of God in this place, and they will kill me because of my wife.’ 12 Besides, she really is my sister, the daughter of my father though not of my mother; and she became my wife. 13 And when God had me wander from my father’s household, I said to her, ‘This is how you can show your love to me: Everywhere we go, say of me, “He is my brother.”’”

GENESIS 20

ISAAC:

When the men of that place asked him about his wife, he said, “She is my sister,” because he was afraid to say, “She is my wife.” He thought, “The men of this place might kill me on account of Rebekah, because she is beautiful.” Genesis 26: 7.

Many of us today are only repeating the lives our parents led in a different dimension. we are only repeating their mistakes or their glory. What do you know about your past?

If we fail to understand where we are coming from, where we have reach and where we are heading towards, we shall only end up revolving our lives around the same pivot of history.

We ought to take a critical look at wherever we are today and whatever situation we are in and compare it with the past to know the similarities and differences and take precaution. Remember the Book of Ecclesiastics says nothing is so new under the sun. ‘That which has been is that which will be, And that which has been done is that which will be done. So there is nothing new under the sun.” Ecclesiastes 1:9

PONDER:   know your history, think of your tomorrow

Author:

'Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.' --- Joshua 1: 8 The Holy Bible is not only a proven book which reckon the past, present and the future but also an awesome manual for life. Clinging closer to the Bible, taking lessons out of it under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and letting it be our best companion will empower us for both joyous and melancholic moments of life. E. A. Y. Devotions takes a journey into the Holy Bible for the unique and renowned lessons for the great empowerment of our lives.

Leave a Reply

