Posted in Bible lessons, Bible study, daily devotions, Uncategorized

Socail responsibility

EXODUS   22    IN   FOCUS

22 “Do not take advantage of the widow or the fatherless. 23 If you do and they cry out to me, I will certainly hear their cry. 24 My anger will be aroused, and I will kill you with the sword; your wives will become widows and your children fatherless.”


We live in a social environment and our activities do affect people around us positively or negatively. God is much interested in how we interact with people. God is keen about what we do for or against people. God takes delight in what we do for the needy in society.

Jesus said ‘Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven. 2So when you give to the needy, do not sound a trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be praised by men. Truly I tell you, they already have their reward‘.

We ought to help people. We need to be the joy of the needy. It is our needful duty  to be there for others but we must be careful with how we do what we must do for people. It is written ‘Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,’ We have a choice to do what pleases men or what pleases God. God is much interested in our solemn duty to Him. 

We live in an era where we shall always be tempted to speak how good we have been to others just for people to see how good we are. Yes, that is good! After all, it would encourage others to do the same but we live to please the Sovereign God Almighty only and not men.

Do not take advantage of people just because you have been good to them! God is watching!  Do not mistreat people who work for you
For Scripture says, “Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain,” and “The worker deserves his wages.” 

God said to the Israelites ‘ 25 “If you lend money to one of my people among you who is needy, do not treat it like a business deal; charge no interest‘.

God is watching whatever we are doing and He said You are to be my holy people

Apostle Paul admonished the Romans. He wrote ‘ Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will’ The principles and pleasure of the world will always give us a different opinion which opposes  the will of God. We must do what pleases God regardless of what society says. We must be careful not to take advantage of people.

God expects us to be holy. God is watching and He sees everything we do. It is just the grace of God that keeps us each day and w must be diligent to use the grace well. He said to the Israelites ‘Do not mistreat or oppress a foreigner, for you were foreigners in Egypt.’

How do you care for others?

The conclusion, Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind.


HYMN

BY: Ensign Edwin Young

I wonder have I done my best for Jesus,
Who died upon the cruel tree?
To think of His great sacrifice at Calvary!
I know my Lord expects the best from me.

Refrain:
How many are the lost that I have lifted?
How many are the chained I’ve helped to free?
I wonder, have I done my best for Jesus,
When He has done so much for me?

The hours that I have wasted are so many
The hours I’ve spent for Christ so few;
Because of all my lack of love for Jesus,
I wonder if His heart is breaking too.

I wonder have I cared enough for others,
Or have I let them die alone?
I might have helped a wand’rer to the Saviour,
The seed of precious Life I might have sown.

No longer will I stay within the valley
I’ll climb to mountain heights above;
The world is dying now for want of someone
To tell them of the Saviour’s matchless love.

Author:

'Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.' --- Joshua 1: 8 The Holy Bible is not only a proven book which reckon the past, present and the future but also an awesome manual for life. Clinging closer to the Bible, taking lessons out of it under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and letting it be our best companion will empower us for both joyous and melancholic moments of life. E. A. Y. Devotions takes a journey into the Holy Bible for the unique and renowned lessons for the great empowerment of our lives.

Leave a Reply

