Posted in Bible lessons, Bible study, Uncategorized

Obedience!

EXODUS     24      IN       FOCUS

When Moses went and told the people all the Lord’s words and laws, they responded with one voice, “Everything the Lord has said we will do.”


The secret to getting satisfied when you are hungry is to eat the food that will make you get satisfy. The secret to passing examinations is to learn what is relevant for passing the examinations. Why would Abraham walk for three days only to go and ‘kill’ his only son.

‘ Some time later God tested Abraham. He said to him, “Abraham!” “Here I am,” he replied. Then God said, “Take your son, your only son, whom you love—Isaac—and go to the region of Moriah. Sacrifice him there as a burnt offering on a mountain I will show you.”…Early the next morning Abraham got up and loaded his donkey. He took with him two of his servants and his son Isaac. When he had cut enough wood for the burnt offering, he set out for the place God had told him about. On the third day Abraham looked up and saw the place in the distance. He said to his servants, “Stay here with the donkey while I and the boy go over there. We will worship and then we will come back to you.”  Genesis 22

What do we wish to achieve at the end of our lives? Where do we want to go at the end of our lives? Moses  sprinkled blood on the people as a covenant and they vowed to obey the will of God

‘He got up early the next morning and built an altar at the foot of the mountain and set up twelve stone pillars representing the twelve tribes of Israel. Then he sent young Israelite men, and they offered burnt offerings and sacrificed young bulls as fellowship offerings to the Lord. Moses took half of the blood and put it in bowls, and the other half he splashed against the altar. Then he took the Book of the Covenant and read it to the people. They responded, “We will do everything the Lord has said; we will obey.”  Moses then took the blood, sprinkled it on the people and said, “This is the blood of the covenant that the Lord has made with you in accordance with all these words.”

Once upon a time a man came to walk on this earth. He was not just any man but an extraordinary and a just Man. His name is Jesus Christ.  He was crucified for His blood to be used as a covenant of freedom for those who will believe and be obedient to the will of His Father. This is the man we have come to. We have come  24 to Jesus the mediator of a new covenant, and to the sprinkled blood that speaks a better word than the blood of Abel.

Moses said Wait here for us until we come back to you.’

Our Lord Jesus said “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

Philip had an urge. He wanted to be convinced of what he was following. He wanted to clear his doubt! He wanted to know the Father!

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. 11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. 12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.

We may have reasons to doubt God, but that doesn’t change who God is! We may have reasons to have a shaking faith, but  that doesn’t change what God can do! We may have reasons to disobey God, but that will never change His nature! He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow! Halleluiah!

Jesus is coming! Oh yes, Jesus  Christ is coming back again! Then the angel said to me, “These words are faithful and true. The Lord, the God of the spirits of the prophets, has sent His angel to show His servants what must soon take place.” Behold, I come quickly: blessed is he that keepeth the sayings of the prophecy of this book. ”

He shed His blood for us and we are suppose to obey Him. One of these days the world will come to an end and all that we are doing shall come to a rest! Obedience to His words and commands is what will see us through. We must obey! Oh yes! We must obey! We must obey with all seriousness and  with great zeal and commitment; with all due diligence and tenacity as Abraham did. Jesus is coming again!

Jesus is seeking for true worshippers. Jesus is coming for real worshippers. He said, “‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. They worship me in vain;  their teachings are merely human rules.” Matthew 15

19 “Sir,” the woman said, “I can see that you are a prophet. 20 Our ancestors worshiped on this mountain, but you Jews claim that the place where we must worship is in Jerusalem.”21 “Woman,” Jesus replied, “believe me, a time is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem. 22 You Samaritans worship what you do not know; we worship what we do know, for salvation is from the Jews. 23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. 24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.” John 4

All that shall matter in the end, shall be our obedience or disobedience to God. All that shall count and be counted in the end will be our salvation in the end!

’13 Then Moses set out with Joshua his aide, and Moses went up on the mountain of God. 14 He said to the elders, “Wait here for us until we come back to you.’ Moses is gone but Jesus will come back again. Jesus is coming again! Are you ready?

Author:

'Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.' --- Joshua 1: 8 The Holy Bible is not only a proven book which reckon the past, present and the future but also an awesome manual for life. Clinging closer to the Bible, taking lessons out of it under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit and letting it be our best companion will empower us for both joyous and melancholic moments of life. E. A. Y. Devotions takes a journey into the Holy Bible for the unique and renowned lessons for the great empowerment of our lives.

Leave a Reply

